My decision to leave my job at Colgate was primarily due to my desire to return to the state of Maine where I lived and worked on and off from 1996-2003. In 2003, I moved to central New York for a chance at my dream job. 16 years later, I have decided to live in my dream location and allow work to be secondary. A few years ago, I purchased some land in Mount Desert, Maine with the plan that I would build on one end of the property and a dear friend would build on the other. In the event that work kept me away from the island, my friend would manage my home as a rental. After frequent visits to see the land, I decided it was time to move there myself.

Mount Desert Island was the first stop on our road trip. Emma, My partner, and I spent most nights camped on the land in Vanna where we awoke to loons each morning. Evenings were full of gatherings at friends’ homes or ‘smores and conversation around a campfire on the property. Then, there was the work part of the trip: tending to house-building details and attending board meetings at College of the Atlantic (#1 Green College in the U.S.) and later attending a board meeting at the Carpenter’s Boat Shop in Pemaquid, Maine. Still, adventure happened, with a hike up Acadia Mountain, climbing at Otter Cliffs and Canada Cliff, and a run on the Long Pond Fire Road. The fall colors set against the ocean as a backdrop were breathtaking around every turn.

Thanks to my predecessors, the Outdoor program at Colgate emphasized sense of place within all outings. And the connection to the MDI that I feel has been unrivaled by any other place I have ever visited. I am continually captivated by Maine’s bold and unrelenting spruce-capped coastline, the smell of the sweet fern along wooden trails and dirt roads and by the capability I have found most Mainers to possess. I am thrilled to move to an island full of so much beauty, creativity, and authenticity. I am thrilled to be living in a place that takes my breath away around almost every corner. I also feel very fortunate to live in the midst of fun and varied hiking, world class sea kayaking, challenging rock climbing and a short jaunt from some good Whitewater! It was a special treat to be able to camp on the land and connect with it in its most natural state. I look forward to spending more time there in it next phase.

